University of Washington College of the Environment ESS Home

ESS Graduate Students

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Elena Amador
Elena Amador
Interests: Mars Remote Sensing, Planetary Sciences and Astrobiology
Email: esamador@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-7379
Office: JHN-240
^top
Jonathan Bapst
Jonathan Bapst
Interests: Mars climate, water ice and habitability
Email: jnbapst@uw.edu
Phone: 206-616-0799
Office: JHN-432
Webpage
Adam Barker
Adam Barker
Interests: The role climate and focused exhumation, via glacier erosion, has in generating and maintaining topography as well in localizing of strain and strain rate.
Email: adbarker@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN-362
Devin Bedard
Devin Bedard
Interests: Quaternary Geology, Paleoclimatology
Email: dtbedard@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 423
Aaron Brewer
Aaron Brewer
Interests:
Email: aaronwb@uw.edu
Phone:
Office:
Landon Burgener
Landon Burgener
Interests: The use of carbonate clumped-isotope paleothermometry to reconstruct terrestrial climate change; the formation and evolution of soil carbonate systems and their suitability as a paleoclimate proxy; Paleosol formation, distribution and interaction with climate systems; climate change; carbonate petrology
Email: lkb57@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 423
Bret Buskirk
Bret Buskirk
Interests: Freshwater invertebrate paleontology and population responses to climate change during the Eocene/Oligocene boundary; affects of dissolved/in solution chemical species on preservation of paleontological material in freshwater environments.
Email: bretb@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN-239
^top
Adam Campbell
Adam Campbell
Interests: Dynamics of ice systems including glaciers, ice sheets and ice shelves. Response of tidewater glaciers to ice shelf disintegration. Stability of ice shelves. Sea-glacier flow during Snowball Earth events.
Email: campbead@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-0162
Office: ATG-721
Webpage
Robert Cannata
Robert Cannata
Interests: Hydrogeology, geothermal studies, GIS, marine geology and geophysics, coastal geology
Email: robertcannata13@gmail.com
Phone: 508 566 7467
Office: JHN 429
Regina Carns
Regina Carns
Interests: Glaciology, snow metamorphism, sea ice, Snowball Earth, astrobiology.
Email: rcarns@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-0162
Office: ATG-721
Rebekah  Cesmat
Rebekah Cesmat
Interests:
Email:
Phone:
Office:
Shelly Chestler
Shelly Chestler
Interests: Seismology
Email: schest@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: ATG 202
Camille Collett
Camille Collett
Interests: Tectonic Geomorphology
Email: collett2@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 362
Carin Cornwall
Carin Cornwall
Interests: Planetary Sciences
Email: carinc@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-0208
Office: JHN-240
^top
Derya Dilmen
Derya Dilmen
Interests: Numerical modeling of Tsunamis
Email: dilmen@uw.edu
Phone: 206-685-3326
Office: JHN-322
^top
Jesse Favia
Jesse Favia
Interests: Applied Geosciences
Email:
Phone:
Office:
John Fullmer
John Fullmer
Interests: Volcanism, Petrology
Email: johnfull@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 323
^top
Carrie Garrison-Laney
Carrie Garrison-Laney
Interests: Paleoseismology, paleoecology, micropaleontology, scientific visual communication
Email: cegl@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 323
Katie Gauglitz
Katie Gauglitz
Interests: geochemistry, environmental geology, and applied geoscience
Email: gauglitz@uw.edu
Phone:
Office:
Andrew Gault
Andrew Gault
Interests: Applied Geosciences
Email:
Phone:
Office:
Danika Globokar
Danika Globokar
Interests: Dating geomorphic events
Email: danikag@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 362
^top
Kelley Hall
Kelley Hall
Interests: Seismology and Subduction Zones
Email: hallka01@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: ATG 202
Jiangang  Han
Jiangang Han
Interests: Seismology
Email: jiangang@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: ATG 210
Sarah Harbert
Sarah Harbert
Interests: fluvial and tectonic geomorphology
Email: harbert1@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 362
Chloe Hart
Chloe Hart
Interests: Geomicrobiology and astrobiology
Email: chlohart@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 432
Michael Hay
Michael Hay
Interests: Glaciology
Email: mhay@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: ATG-210
Kelly Hillbun
Kelly Hillbun
Interests: Carbonate geology, stable isotope geochemistry, paleontology, and astrobiology.
Email: khillbun@uw.edu
Phone: 206-685-3326
Office: JHN-423
Trevor Hillebrand
Trevor Hillebrand
Interests: Glaciology and Glacial History of Antarctica
Email: trhille@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 432
Keith Hodson
Keith Hodson
Interests: Structural geology, active tectonics, and orogenisis
Email: krhodson@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 362
Yan Emma Hu
Yan Emma Hu
Interests: Non-traditional stable isotope geochemistry and gemology.
Email: yanhu@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 323
^top
Osazonamen Igbinosun
Osazonamen Igbinosun
Interests: In Situ Resource Utilization, Astrobiology
Email: osaig@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-7379
Office: JHN-262
^top
Marc Jaffrey
Marc Jaffrey
Interests: Glaciology
Email: mjaffrey@uw.edu
Phone: 206-616-0799
Office: JHN-432
Batbaatar Jigjidsuren
Batbaatar Jigjidsuren
Interests: Glacial Geology, Remote Sensing, Optically-stimulated luminescence dating.
Email: bataa@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-6267
Office: JHN-331
Webpage
^top
Laura Kehrl
Laura Kehrl
Interests: glacier flow modeling, ice-ocean interactions, glacier hydrology, satellite remote sensing
Email: kehrl@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: ATG 210
Julia Kelson
Julia Kelson
Interests: geomorphology, tectonics, climate
Email: jrkelson@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 330
Katie King
Katie King
Interests: Applied Geosciences
Email: katking@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 429
Paul Kintner
Paul Kintner
Interests:
Email: kintner@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 262
Daniel Kluskiewicz
Daniel Kluskiewicz
Interests: Glaciology
Email: dklus@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: ATG-210
Matt Koehler
Matt Koehler
Interests: Early Earth Evolution; Biogeochemistry; Astrobiology
Email: koehlermc9@gmail.com
Phone:
Office: JHN 423
Joshua Krissansen-Totton
Joshua Krissansen-Totton
Interests: biogeochemical cycles, planetary science, astrobiology, solar–climate connections
Email: joshkt@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 262
^top
Peter Ledoux
Peter Ledoux
Interests: Geomorphology and silicic magma evolution by Assimilation Fractional Crystallization
Email: ledoux88@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 262
Vivian Leung
Vivian Leung
Interests: Fluvial sediment transport and geomorphology.
Email: vvleung@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-7529
Office: JHN-362
David Lilien
David Lilien
Interests: Glaciology
Email: dal22@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: ATG 210
Lu Liu
Lu Liu
Interests: Ground ice stability in the Dry Valleys, Antarctica: modeling of ice condensation/sublimation of massive ground ice. Environmental geochemistry analysis.
Email: liul99@uw.edu
Phone: 206-616-0799
Office: JHN-323
^top
Bradley Markle
Bradley Markle
Interests: Glaciology
Email: marklebr@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN-324
^top
Emily Newsom
Emily Newsom
Interests: Modeling Southern Ocean circulation and heat transport; Ice-sheet, sea ice, and ocean interactions in the Southern Ocean; polar and global climate change.
Email: enewsom@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-6223
Office: ATG-208B
Paige Northway
Paige Northway
Interests:
Email: northway@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 262
^top
Kendra Pivaroff-Ward
Kendra Pivaroff-Ward
Interests: Environmental Geology, Applied Geosciences
Email: kward01@uw.edu
Phone:
Office:
Zachary Ploskey
Zachary Ploskey
Interests: glacial geology; landscape evolution of glaciated landscapes; cosmic ray exposure dating
Email: zploskey@uw.edu
Phone: 206-685-3326
Office: JHN-423
Kristin Poinar
Kristin Poinar
Interests: Glaciology, ice sheet modeling. Thermodynamics at the bed, ice-shelf ocean interactions, fast changes in Greenland and Antarctica.
Email: kpoinar@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-6223
Office: ATG-208B
Webpage
^top
Andrew Ritchie
Andrew Ritchie
Interests: Sedimentology and Stratigraphy
Email: aritchie@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-9419
Office: JHN-323
Frances Rivera-Hernandez
Frances Rivera-Hernandez
Interests: Planetary Sciences
Email: riveraf@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-7379
Office: JHN-262
^top
Sarah Schanz
Sarah Schanz
Interests: Fluvial geomorphology and sediment transport
Email: schanzs@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 432
Jillian Schleicher
Jillian Schleicher
Interests: Multiphase fluid dynamics modeling and physical petrology of magmatic systems
Email: jmschl@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN-321
Spruce Schoenemann
Spruce Schoenemann
Interests: Paleoclimate, Climate Dynamics, Ice Core Research
Email: schoes@uw.edu
Phone: 206-616-0799
Office: JHN-432
Shane Schoepfer
Shane Schoepfer
Interests: Biogeochemistry, mass extinctions, ocean anoxia, nutrient cycling, and isotope geochemistry
Email: shanedms@uw.edu
Phone: 206-616-0799
Office: JHN-432
David Shean
David Shean
Interests: glaciology, ice sheet dynamics, planetary science, remote sensing
Email: dshean@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: ATG-208B
Webpage
Robert Sheerer
Robert Sheerer
Interests: Glaciology: glacial dynamics, landscape evolution, and climate.
Email: sheerer@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: ATG-210
Steven  Sholes
Steven Sholes
Interests: Planetary Science, Remote Sensing, Mars Geomorphology, Astrobiology
Email: sfsholes@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 262
Megan Smith
Megan Smith
Interests: Planetary atmospheres and evolution, biogeochemical cycling in the Precambrian, and astrobiology
Email: msmith25@uw.edu
Phone: 206-685-3326
Office: JHN-330
Webpage
Perry Spector
Perry Spector
Interests: Landscape evolution, glacial geology, cosmogenic surface-exposure dating, glaciology
Email: pspec@uw.edu
Phone: 206-616-0799
Office: JHN-432
Webpage
Andrew Spickert
Andrew Spickert
Interests: Applied Geosciences
Email:
Phone:
Office:
Eric Stata
Eric Stata
Interests: Geomorphology, stratigraphy
Email: estata@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 429
Max Stevens
Max Stevens
Interests: Firn densification and gas transport in firn, glacier mass balance, snow avalanches
Email: maxstev@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-6223
Office: ATG-208B
Christopher Strickland
Christopher Strickland
Interests: Numerical modeling of electrical conductivity and permittivity
Email: cestrick@uw.edu
Phone:
Office:
Eva Stueeken
Eva Stueeken
Interests: Evolution of environments on the early Earth, in particular the rise of oxygen and its effects on trace element availability, and implications for the origin and evolution of life in the Universe.
Email: evast@uw.edu
Phone: 206-685-6773
Office: JHN-336
Justin Sweet
Justin Sweet
Interests: Seismology
Email: jrsweet@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-0570
Office: ATG-202
^top
Matt Tilley
Matt Tilley
Interests: Computational space plasma physics, stellar wind interaction with planetary magnetospheres, exoplanetary habitability and detection, high performance computing.
Email: mtilley@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 262
Chad Truitt
Chad Truitt
Interests: Space Exploration, Advanced Propulsion, and Rocketry
Email: truitc@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 262
Michael Turzewski
Michael Turzewski
Interests: Geomorphology and Tectonics
Email: zewski@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 423
^top
Carl Ulberg
Carl Ulberg
Interests: Seismology
Email: ulbergc@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: ATG-202
^top
Barbara Walker
Barbara Walker
Interests: Geomicrobiology
Email: blwalker@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-7529
Office: JHN 330
Mark Welch
Mark Welch
Interests: Geodesy and Crustal Deformation
Email: mdw12@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: ATG 210
Andrew White
Andrew White
Interests:
Email: andrew8@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-0208
Office: JHN-240
Farin Wilson
Farin Wilson
Interests: Applied Geosciences
Email: farin1@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 429
^top
Ling Zheng
Ling Zheng
Interests: Space Physics
Email:
Phone:
Office: JHN-266
Hao Zheng
Hao Zheng
Interests: Space Physics
Email: haozheng@uw.edu
Phone:
Office: JHN 266