Print this page

On Thursday May 25th, 2006, the UW Dept of Earth and Space Sciences held its annual Honors & Awards Ceremony, giving out recognition and numerous awards to students, faculty, and staff. All of these awards are presented for merit recognition via a nomination and vetting process, and the awards are often accompanied by small amounts of cash or scholarships. ESS Chair Robert Winglee was the Master of Ceremonies, with help from Terry Swanson, Ed Waddington, and Roger Buick.

Gallery of Awards Photos

The major awards from the 2006 ceremony are :

  • Top Undergrad Merrill Prize : Jennifer Glass
  • Teaching Excellence : Darrel Cowan
  • Barksdale Service Award : Bill Steele
Photo of Jennifer Glass receiving
	Undergrad Service Award. Jennifer Glass receiving the Undergrad Service Award from George Robert Winglee. Photo of Darrel Cowan receiving the Teaching Excellence Award. Darrel Cowan receiving Teaching Excellence Award from Robert Winglee. Photo of Bill Steele receiving the Barksdale Service Award. Bill Steele receiving the Barksdale Service Award from Robert Winglee and Tucker Barksdale.